Youtube AC repair procedure - Right or Wrong?

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

acbuick97
Read the full article

Youtube AC repair procedure - Right or Wrong?

Post by acbuick97 »

I’m a new member and really appreciate the excellent information I’ve received on this site in the last 15 years. I’ve had about 30 years experience in automotive air conditioning systems and have done several full reseal jobs on GM cars with V5 and A6 compressors.

I need expert help in my dispute with Youtube poster called Astral Auto Repairs (Astral). Yesterday, he posted a video titled “A/C Blowing Hot Low Side Suction Hose 2006 Nissan Altima” which showed him opening the system for about 30 minutes to replace the hose and then recharging the system without a vacuum procedure. Based upon all of my past experience and education, I felt this was improper and contacted Timmy of Astral to tell him so. In the past, I’ve found Timmy’s videos to be very helpful and he shows a great bit of knowledge in many automotive repair areas. However, this video I felt was not helpful and even potentially harmful and I contacted him, as follows via email:

“Hi Tim,

I've really liked all your past YouTube videos but I have to tell you, you really blew it on this one.

I cannot believe you would recharge the AC system after it had been opened without pulling a vacuum. Recharging with refrigerant with air in the system at best will limit the effectiveness of the cooling and at worst will cause corrosion due to moisture, especially doing this repair in August with high humidity. I believe part of the EPA 609 certification covers this. I really hope you do a follow up video correcting this issue. I also wanted to pass on a tip about using Nylog blue to apply to the O rings instead of refrigerant oil to reduce leaks.

Please keep up with the videos.

Sincerely,

Evan Ayers”

He responded the same day with this:

“Hi Evan,