1996 Jeep Cherokee A/C trouble

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

WilliamK1974
Read the full article

1996 Jeep Cherokee A/C trouble

Post by WilliamK1974 »

Hello everyone,

I'm asking about the a/c on my 1996 Jeep Cherokee Country, 284k, factory R134a system that may or may not be running the original parts. I didn't get any maintenance records with it. When I first bought the car back in January, I could tell that the a/c worked well enough to defrost the windows. I had some issues with vacuum leaks that caused some trouble with the a/c controls but have now resolved them.

It's warmer now, and about a month ago, I felt like the a/c was cooling, but that it would be able to cool better. So, I added some PAG oil and refrigerant to the system, thinking this would help it all run smoother. I'm not an expert, just learning as I go. That ended up being a bad idea. While the compressor would run, it wouldn't cycle and wasn't cooling the interior of the car. I could see refrigerant bubbles moving through the sight glass on the receiver/dryer, so I figured that the compressor was at least functioning.

I hooked up a set of manifold gauges, and they showed that the low side would either be at zero or pulling a vacuum, and that the high side could go up close to 300. Some people told me that the oil I added might have been too much for the system. They said to have the system evacuated, and hook a vacuum pump up to it. So, I did this. The pump pulled it down to around 20"Hg, and the system held that vacuum for no less than 45 minutes.