C5 Covette AC questions

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

weslp00
Read the full article

C5 Covette AC questions

Post by weslp00 »

Hi guys,

I'm a Newb on here but thought I'd ask around for some advice... :D Thanks in advance.
Just about to start an AC rebuild on my corvette. Control valve on the compressor was leaking so bit the bullet and got all new components incl the compressor which is an ACDelco item V7. I am going to flush all the tubes out but will replace the condenser and accumulator and orifice tube. There was virtually nothing on the screen of the OT (10 tiny sparkly bits )so not sure about an evaporator flush?

Question is the compressor. I need to balance the oil but I don't know what oil is in the new one and my system uses PAG150. Would it be better to dump the oil in the compressor and replace with the correct amount of PAG150 as it could be PAG 46 in there... also will the V7 be ok with PAG150 as I heard the V7 was designed to run on PAG46 ??

Please let know.... 8-)

Stuart.
bohica2xo
Preferred Member

Re: C5 Covette AC questions

Post by bohica2xo »

Well, let's start with the procedure to add oil to a V7 compressor, along with all of the service information - just in case you have not read it, and for any others that might want do the same job:

http://www.omega-usa.com/client/images/ ... _ALERT.PDF

V5 / V7 compressors need to be oiled through the drain. If you are swapping oil types, or just don't trust what it may have come with - drain it, then fill it with the oil you intend to use. Spin it 20 turs or so, then drain the mixture out & replace it with fresh oil.

The best plan for a new compressor is to get all of the old oil out of the system. That way you can add back a correct charge. This can be difficult with parallel flow condensers, so replacement is a good call. It is at least 14 years old anyway.