intermittent clutch binding on sprinter van

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

hertfordnc
Read the full article

intermittent clutch binding on sprinter van

Post by hertfordnc »

First post. so glad i found this forum. I am a marginal electrician and self taught HVAC hack, I can work a vac pump and nitrogen well enough to save some money over the years.

So, I bought this 2006 Sprinter last summer, It has rear AC with its own dedicated compressor. When i got it there was a constant chirping noise. so i changed the compressor. Doing that changed the noise from continuous to randomly intermittent.

So now it will run for a while, blow cold air and then start screaming loudly. The compressor is biding, the noise is actually coming from the belt. It will chirp for 10 seconds or so and then go back to running normally.

So we are clear- there is nothing wrong with the belt or any other moving parts. All my googling came back to serpentine belt or fan. THat's not what happens here.

I watched it happen, the compressor is actually stopping. I cut power immediately and i can feel the compressor bound up. But if I go back sometime later if will spin smoothly,

Low pressure side seems to be about right- 55psi at 85F - it spikes to 65-70 when the squeeling starts, and then goes back down.

High pressure side is around 180 and does not fluxuate. when the noise occurs.

I'd be grateful for any insight, the only reliable service in my area is a mercedes dealership.

thanks
tbirdtbird
Preferred Member

Re: intermittent clutch binding on sprinter van

Post by tbirdtbird »

The comp failed sending debris further downstream to the condenser and further on to partially clog the system and then into the new comp where it has wreaked havoc there, too.

You didn't say TXV or OT.
When a comp grenades, here is the sequence of repair: