2006 Lincoln Navigator Replace Stock Scroll compressor w/piston type?

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

BakoNavi23
Read the full article

2006 Lincoln Navigator Replace Stock Scroll compressor w/piston type?

Post by BakoNavi23 »

Hi!

I’m an independant mechanic in Bakersfield, Ca.

Re-fitting a new to me 2006 Lincoln Navigator w/156,000 on clock for my family people mover. Doing a timing job and had to discharge AC to complete job. This will be my first AC repair ever.

I replaced both Schrader valves (one was leaking) after I had system discharged (very low on refrigerant) by mobile mechanic because I don’t own those tools yet.

I’m pretty OCD and own all the Ford manuals for this truck as well as buying an AC repair book on Amazon by Jerry Clemons that I’m working my way through.

While I was cleaning up all the oil and other leaking fluids under the car I realized that the front seal (not on the clutch or driveshaft of compressor) on stock compressor was leaking oil (but still worked before I took the car apart) after I cleaned and degreased it. Looking at sticker on compressor appears to be the original one from the factory.

I have already purchased a new dryer and all the new o-ring seals. There doesn’t appear to be any metal in any of the lines I removed so I doubt the compressor was coming apart yet but definitely leaking.

While shopping for new compressor I noticed that some manufacturers/retailers like Rock Auto were offering an “upgraded” compressor that was the piston type, not the scroll type OEM compressor.

Even the Ford one is now sourced from China (which I am not happy about) so looks like I’m stuck with Chinese parts no matter what.

My question is should I just get a new Ford part (YCC165) or should I get one of the different design piston types that are claimed to be an upgrade.