Need help with repairing 77' Airstream RV engine AC

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

ArgosyRV
Read the full article

Need help with repairing 77' Airstream RV engine AC

Post by ArgosyRV »

Hello, I have a 1977 Airstream RV on a Chevrolet P30 Chassis. It had original dash ac.when I bought the rv the AC was not functioning and the pump seized and threw the belt the first time I drove it.

I have replaced a few Ac systems in the past and I am a competent mechanic, but not a lot of AC knowledge beyond basic theory and function of parts.

I replaced the Frigidaire A6 pump (reman), condenser, drier and all new lines.

Flushed the original sealed evaporator until flush ran clear.

I was unable to locate an expansion valve or an orifice tube.( it must be inside the sealed evaporator box that I cannot remove without removing the dash) during flushing there was restriction so it has one or the other.

I added 6.5oz pag oil to the 3.5oz of unknown oil that shipped in the pump and 48oz of A134 per capacity sticker on the vehicle.

System performed flawlessly, in 85 degree 80% humidity in Florida I was getting 42 degrees on high at the vents.

After about 400 miles of driving with the ac on over a number of trips, the pump began to squeal in traffic and threw the belt. after the RV cooled down I reinstalled the belt and the AC blew cold again. After 30 min it seized again and I quickly turned it off.

Now when the engine is cold it will still function for about thirty minutes before it seizes again.